Hoeven Announces Nearly $2 Million in Head Start Grants for North Dakota

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today announced that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has awarded two grants totaling nearly $2 million for early childhood education in eastern and northeastern North Dakota. The awards are as follows:

  • Mayville State University (MSU) – $1,117,837 – The award supports the Child Development Program at MSU, which provides Head Start, Early Head Start and Child Care programming in Traill, Steele, Griggs, Nelson and Grand Forks counties. The funds are made available through HHS’ Early Head Start-Child Care (EHS-CC) Partnership program, which allows Early Head Start programs to partner with local child care centers and family child care providers serving infants and toddlers from low-income families.
  • Community Action Region VI – $872,714 – The award supports the agency’s Head Start and Early Head Start programs, which serve Barnes, Dickey, Foster, Griggs, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, Stutsman and Wells counties. The funds are made available through HHS’ Head Start program, which seeks to promote school readiness for low-income children through comprehensive health, educational, nutritional, social and other services.

“These grants support programs that help build a strong foundation for our children to succeed,” said Hoeven. “This is an investment in the health and education of our youngest residents and their future success.”

As a member of the U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee, Hoeven works to support programs that supplement state and local efforts to improve student achievement in primary and secondary education, especially for the disadvantaged and those in rural communities.