Hoeven Announces More than $350,000 in Grants for North Dakota Housing Authorities

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today announced that North Dakota housing authorities have received 15 grants totaling more than $350,000 from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s (HUD) Public Housing Operating Fund. The program reimburses the operating costs of local housing authorities, which seek to meet the housing needs of low-income persons who are elderly, disabled, veterans, homeless or working poor.

“Safe and affordable housing helps provide a solid foundation for those who are vulnerable and seeking economic security and greater independence,” Hoeven said. “To that end, these funds support the operations of our local housing authorities, who work to meet the unique needs of each of our communities and residents.”

As a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Senator Hoeven has worked to support housing and community development programs that address the needs and priorities of North Dakota.

The grants are awarded as follows:

  • Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority - $130,144
  • Burleigh County Housing Authority - $62,511
  • Minot Housing Authority - $41,388
  • Housing Authority of Cass County – $31,482
  • Housing Authority of the City of Williston - $19,590
  • Rolette County Housing Authority - $16,715
  • Ramsey County Housing - $10,101
  • Mercer County Housing Authority - $9,096
  • Barnes County Housing Authority - $6,492
  • Towner County Housing Authority - $5,510
  • Traill County Housing Authority - $5,496
  • Nelson County Housing - $5,368
  • Emmons County Housing Authority - $4,940
  • Benson County Housing Authority - $2,863
  • McIntosh County Housing Authority - $1,924