Hoeven Announces More Than $10.6 Million To Secure Border, Help North Dakota Prepare For Emergencies

WASHINGTON — Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Homeland Security and Homeland Security Appropriations Committees, today announced that the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has awarded over $9.3 million to the State of North Dakota, North Dakota counties and the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate tribe. Hoeven previously announced nearly $7.2 million of this funding in May. Today’s announcement includes the total amount of funding for Fiscal Year (FY) 2018.

FY2018 DHS Funding Allocated to North Dakota:

  • State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) – $3.98 million – The funds will be used to help North Dakota protect, prepare and recover from terrorism and catastrophic events.
  • Emergency Management Performance Grants (EMPG) – over $3.1 million– The funds will be used to assist the state in preparing for hazards.
  • Operation Stonegarden (OPSG) – over $1.56 million – The funds will be used to help the State of North Dakota and counties along the U.S.-Canadian border secure the border. 
    • Bottineau County – $180,000
    • Cavalier County – $150,000  
    • o Pembina County – $130,000  
    • o Divide County – $123,497  
    • o Rolette County – $120,000  
    • o Towner County – $120,000  
    • o Burke County – $100,000
    • o Renville County – $100,000  
    • o Grand Forks County – $90,000  
    • o McHenry County – $90,000  
    • o McLean County – $90,000  
    • o Pierce County – $90,000  
    • o Walsh County – $90,000  
    • o Wells County – $90,000
  • Tribal Homeland Security Grant Program (THSGP), Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate – $577,345 – The funds will help the tribe prepare for emergencies.

“This funding will help keep our state safe and ensure we are prepared to meet emergencies,” Hoeven said. “By making these investments, we can help ensure that our state and nation are secure and prepared for natural and other disasters.”