Hoeven Announces $61,000 Economic Development Grant for Red River Region

This is in addition to five other grants, totaling $310,000, awarded to North Dakota in December

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, who serves on the U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced that the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) is awarding a grant of $61,000 to help support economic development in the Red River region. EDA planning investments support the development and implementation of a comprehensive economic development strategy (CEDS) for the area served by the Red River Regional Council, which is comprised of Grand Forks, Nelson, Pembina and Walsh counties. This grant will be used to establish an economic development planning framework, process and strategy that supports private capital investment and job creation in Grafton/Walsh County.

“These grants will help to develop and diversify the economies of Walsh County by bringing together public and private sectors in the area to create an economic development plan,” said Hoeven. “This builds on our efforts to create good jobs for our people and ensure our state’s economy is vibrant and strong now and into the future.”

This is in addition to five other grants, totaling $310,000, the senator announced in December. The following entities received grant funding:

  • $62,000 for the Lake Agassiz Regional Council, which serves Cass, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele and Traill counties.
  • $62,000 for the Roosevelt-Custer Regional Council for Development, which serves Adams, Billings, Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger, Slope and Stark counties.
  • $62,000 for the Souris Basin Planning Council, which serves Bottineau, Burke, McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville and Ward counties.
  • $62,000 for Lewis and Clark Regional Development Council, which services Burleigh, Emmons, Grant, Kidder, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Oliver, Sheridan and Sioux counties.
  • $62,000 for the North Central Planning Council, which serves Benson, Cavalier, Eddy, Ramsey, Rolette and Towner counties, including Spirit Lake and Turtle Mountain.