Hoeven & Cramer Present Congressional Badge of Bravery to BIA Officer Dexter Davis

Award Recognizes Officer Davis’ Exceptional Bravery during a July 2019 Traffic Accident on the Standing Rock Indian Reservation

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer today presented the Congressional Badge of Bravery to Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) law enforcement officer Dexter Davis in recognition of his exceptional acts of bravery while serving on the Standing Rock Indian Reservation.

On July 9, 2019, significant heavy rainfall washed out a large section of Highway 1806 on the border of North and South Dakota. Fast moving water swept several cars and a bus into a hole which was approximately 30 feet deep by 50 feet wide and was quickly filling with water. As one of the first responders on the scene, Officer Davis acted quickly, entered the water and used ropes to stabilize the bus and retrieve the bus driver, who was severely injured. Officer Davis and the driver were then pulled to safety by the other emergency personnel.

“Our law enforcement officers take on the essential work of protecting our communities and keeping us safe, and the extraordinary bravery demonstrated by Officer Davis reminds us of the great personal risk they face and the deep debt of gratitude we owe to them,” said Senator Hoeven. “Officer Davis put his life on the line that day in order to save another, and it is fitting that we give him the recognition he deserves for his courageous and selfless service.”

“I was honored to witness Standing Rock Officer Dexter Davis receive the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery. Three summers ago after heavy rainfall, Officer Davis selflessly waded into dark and raging waters to rescue an injured bus driver near the North Dakota-South Dakota state line. He exemplifies what it means to be an officer of the law by demonstrating courage, sacrifice, and excellence in the line of duty,” said Senator Cramer.

The Congressional Badge of Bravery was established by Congress in 2008 and is awarded annually to federal, state, and local law enforcement officers who demonstrate exceptional acts of bravery in the line of duty. Nominations are made by the head of the relevant law enforcement agency.