Hoeven Affirms Commitment to Block Taxpayer Funding for Abortion

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven joined Senators Steve Daines (R-Mont.) and James Lankford (R-Okla.) this week in outlining their commitment to uphold the Hyde Amendment, which prevents taxpayer funding for abortion. In a letter to Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), the senators said they would block any legislation that provides taxpayer funding for abortion. The senators outlined their support for life and expressed unity in defending pro-life protections.

“We write to express our unwavering support for the Hyde Amendment and all other longstanding pro-life protections. For more than 45 years, the Hyde Amendment has ensured that taxpayer dollars are not used to fund abortions, saving the lives of nearly 2.5 million preborn children,” the senators wrote. 

In addition to Hoeven, Daines and Lankford, the letter was signed by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.) and Senators John Barrasso (Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), Roy Blunt (Mo.), John Boozman (Ark.), Mike Braun (Ind.), Richard Burr (N.C.), Shelley Moore Capito (W. Va.), Bill Cassidy (La.), John Cornyn (Texas), Tom Cotton (Ark.), Kevin Cramer (N.D.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Ted Cruz (Texas), Joni Ernst (Iowa), Deb Fischer (Neb.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Bill Hagerty (Tenn.), Josh Hawley (Mo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), James Inhofe (Okla.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), John Kennedy (La.), Mike Lee (Utah), Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Roger Marshall (Kan.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Rob Portman (Ohio), James Risch (Idaho), Mitt Romney (Utah), Michael Rounds (S.D.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Ben Sasse (Neb.), Rick Scott (Fla.), Tim Scott (S.C.), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Dan Sullivan (Alaska), John Thune (S.D.), Thom Tillis (N.C.), Pat Toomey (Pa.), Tommy Tuberville (Ala.), Roger Wicker (Miss.) and Todd Young (Ind.).

This letter is endorsed by Susan B. Anthony Pro-Life America, Family Research Council, March for Life, Catholic Vote, National Right to Life, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, Americans United for Life, Concerned Women for America, and Alliance Defending Freedom.