Hatch Welcomes Senator Hoeven to the GOP High-Tech Task Force


WASHINGTON – Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), chairman of the Senate Republican High-Tech Task Force (SRHTTF), announced today that Sen. John Hoeven of North Dakota has joined the task force.

The task force is aimed at ensuring the nation’s technology firms remain at the forefront of the world economy. With the addition of Sen. Hoeven, the task force includes 15 members of the Republican Conference.

“Sen. Hoeven is a proven leader who understands what our tech industry needs to be successful, and I welcome him to the task force,” Sen. Hatch said. “The task force’s goal is to implement policies that allow the industry to prosper and create jobs, and I’ve been honored to lead the task force for the past two years. I look forward to working with Sen. Hoeven to help grow our economy and specifically the high tech industry.”

“The United States has always held a clear and decisive advantage in the area of high technology, a field that offers well-paying jobs and virtually unlimited potential for growth,” Hoeven said. “I look forward to working with Senator Hatch and the task force to create the kind of pro-business environment that will foster continued innovation and growth in this exciting industry, which can make an enormous contribution to securing America’s economic might.”

Despite a struggling American economy, the nation’s tech industry continues to excel. Firms across the country have continued to create jobs and spur innovation to maintain our nation’s technological edge and keep good paying jobs from going overseas.

Some of the task force’s policy objectives are:

          • Promote private sector innovation;
          • Create a business environment that attracts the leading worldwide   
          • Spur high-tech investment through incentives, tax system reforms and
             other means;
          • Encourage fair industry standard development processes;
          • Enhance the nation’s competitive workforce and protect its innovation;
          • Improve antitrust review processes; and
          • Eliminate corrosive barriers to trade.

In addition to Sens. Hatch and Hoeven, the task force members include Sens. Scott Brown (R-Mass.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Michael Enzi (R-Wyo.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), John McCain (R-Ariz.) James Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), John Thune (R-S.D.), David Vitter (R-La.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).