FEMA Expands Emergency Declaration To Battle Missouri River Flooding

WASHINGTON - Senators Kent Conrad and John Hoeven and Congressman Rick Berg announced this morning that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has expanded its April 7 Emergency Declaration for North Dakota flood fighting efforts to include Burleigh, Emmons, Mercer, McLean, Morton, Oliver and Sioux Counties and the reservation of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe.  

“With additional rain and additional releases from Garrison Dam on the way the Missouri will only continue its rise. There is no time to waste,” the delegation said in a joint statement. “This expansion of the emergency declaration is vital and will provide the federal resources necessary to continue to prepare for the flood fight.” 

Under the declaration FEMA directs federal assets to provide assistance based on requests from the state. Numerous federal agencies have been involved in functions ranging from search-and-rescue operations to law enforcement to interoperable communications. 

The emergency declaration now includes a total of 21 North Dakota counties and two reservations: Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Emmons, Eddy, Grand Forks, Mercer, McLean, Morton, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sioux, Towner, Traill, Walsh and Ward Counties and the reservations of the Spirit Lake Nation and Standing Rock Sioux Tribe.