Delegation: President Approves North Dakota's Request for Presidential Disaster Declaration

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong today announced that President Trump has approved the State of North Dakota’s request for a presidential major disaster declaration due to fall flooding and the early snowstorm. The presidential disaster declaration makes federal assistance available under the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The delegation supported the state’s request in a letter to the Administration.

“We appreciate the President’s approval of North Dakota’s request for a disaster declaration, and the Administration’s support for our state given the extensive flooding and early snowfall that occurred this fall,” said the delegation. “This declaration will make vital federal resources available to help communities in our state recover from this disaster.”   

Last fall, the delegation helped secure a secretarial disaster designation from U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Sonny Perdue for 47 North Dakota counties. This designation made producers in these counties automatically eligible for disaster assistance under USDA’s Wildfire and Hurricane Indemnity Program Plus (WHIP+).