Students Receive Scholarship, Attend Distinguished Program in Nation's Capital

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- Senators Kent Conrad and John Hoeven and Representative Rick Berg announced today that two North Dakota students have been selected as recipients of the 16th Annual Prudential Spirit of Community Awards.

Cara Mund of Bismarck and Lexy Grenier of Grand Forks were chosen as the state’s top youth volunteers for 2011. As State Honorees, each will receive a $1,000 award, an engraved silver medallion, and will join other honorees from across the country in attending a program recognizing their service in Washington, D.C. during the week of April 30 – May 3.

“Cara and Lexy are outstanding young women, true leaders with a passion for public service. This award recognizes the important work they have done in their communities to help those in need,” the delegation said in a joint statement. "Cara and Lexy have made North Dakota proud."

Mund, 17, is a junior at Century High School. By organizing an annual fashion show, she has raised more than $10,000 for the Make-A-Wish Foundation in the last three years. The money she raised has been used to grant the wishes of six children.

Grenier, 12, is a seventh-grader at Schroeder Middle School. She spent four days a week last summer volunteering at St. Vincent Thrift Store. She has also volunteered at an American Cancer Society Relay for Life fund-raiser and served meals for the homeless.

Kristen Meland of Harvey and Annika Vernon of Hazen were named as Distinguished Finalists. They will be given bronze medallions and will be honored at local ceremonies.

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards were created in 1995 by Prudential Financial and the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Their aim is to emphasize the importance of public service and to encourage young citizens to give back to their communities.