Delegation Calls for Military Academy Applications

North Dakota Students Encouraged to Apply to Prestigious Military Institutions

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven and Heidi Heitkamp and Congressman Kevin Cramer today announced they are currently accepting applications from North Dakota students interested in serving their country by attending one of the nation’s military service academies.

“We are honored to have the privilege to nominate many of North Dakota’s best and brightest students to represent our great state at one of our nation’s historic institutions of higher learning and military service,” the delegation said in a joint statement. “Attending one of our country’s prestigious service academies is a worthy calling that allows students to serve their country while pursuing a military career and earning a world-class education. We encourage interested students to contact our offices to begin the application process.”

The North Dakota delegation encourages all interested North Dakota high school graduates or graduating seniors to apply through one of their offices to receive a nomination to one of the military service academies. Applicants must be at least 17 years old but not past their 23rd birthday on July 1, 2014, and must also be U.S. citizens, unmarried and have no dependents. They must also demonstrate excellence in academics and leadership. Application materials are available online through the senators’ and congressman’s official websites.

All three of North Dakota’s congressional offices will accept applications for the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York; the Air Force Academy near Colorado Springs, Colorado; the Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland; and the Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, New York. The application deadline is Friday, October 11. Military academy interviews with the delegation are scheduled for Tuesday, November 5 in Bismarck and Wednesday, November 6 in Fargo. The delegation will make its nominations to the military academies in late November.

Applications may be sent to Senator John Hoeven’s office at 1802 32nd Avenue South, Suite B, Fargo, ND 58103; Senator Heidi Heitkamp’s office at 657 Second Avenue North, Office 306, Fargo, ND 58102; and Congressman Kevin Cramer’s office at 4200 James Ray Drive, Office 600, Grand Forks, ND 58202.

For more information about the application process, applicants are encouraged to visit the delegation’s official websites or to call Senator Hoeven’s office at (701) 239-5389; Senator Heitkamp’s office at (701) 232-8030; or Congressman Cramer’s office at (701) 738-4880.