Senate Passes Hoeven-Cosponsored Resolution Designating July 28th As National Day of the American Cowboy

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Western Caucus, today announced that the Senate has passed a resolution he cosponsored declaring Saturday, July 28 as National Day of the American Cowboy. The resolution was introduced by Senators Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.) and honors the continuing legacy and contributions of cowboys across the United States.

“The American West was shaped in large part by the hard work and determination of cowboys,” Hoeven said. “The cowboy legacy is especially prevalent in North Dakota where individuals like Theodore Roosevelt ranched and worked cattle. Also, North Dakota author Louis L’Amour wrote extensively about the cowboy, characterizing their passion, dedication and strong values. Our resolution declaring July 28th as the National Day of the American Cowboy acknowledges the lasting impact that cowboys have had on our nation.”

Additional cosponsors of the resolution include Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.) Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), John Thune (R-S.D.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) and Dean Heller (R-Nev.).