Hoeven Statement on Sanford and Helms Appointment to Royalty Policy Commitee

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee and Energy Appropriations Committee, today issued the following statement after North Dakota Lt. Governor Brent Sanford and Department of Mineral Resources Director Lynn Helms were appointed by Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke to serve on the Royalty Policy Committee. Hoeven joined Zinke earlier this year to begin implementing an order to reestablish the Royalty Policy Committee to provide greater transparency in royalty and leasing policy for energy production on federal and tribal lands.

“Energy production on federal lands is important for our nation, energy consumers and private mineral rights holders,” Hoeven said. “The delays in energy projects for federal land reduce returns to taxpayers, while also undermining the rights of private mineral owners, especially in western states where federal land is mixed in with private lands. The Royalty Policy Committee will help improve the process for energy leases, and I am glad we have two dedicated North Dakotans on the committee to represent our state’s interests.”