Hoeven Receives National Corn Growers President’s Award

Senator Recognized for Leadership on Agriculture Issues

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, chairman of the Senate Agriculture Appropriations Committee and a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, today received the National Corn Growers Association’s President’s Award for 2018, in recognition of his leadership in advancing issues important to agriculture and corn producers. The award ceremony was attended by both North Dakota and national representatives of the organization, including Kevin Skunes, President of the National Corn Growers Association and a farmer from Arthur, North Dakota, Randy Melvin, President of the North Dakota Corn Growers Association and a farmer from Buffalo, North Dakota, and Dale Ihry, Executive Director of the North Dakota Corn Growers Association and the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council.

“Farmers and ranchers are facing real challenges right now, and it is imperative that Congress remain committed to helping those that provide the food, fuel and fiber our nation needs,” Hoeven said. “The support and risk management tools we provide through the farm bill and our agriculture funding legislation are key to helping farmers and ranchers weather trade uncertainty, low commodity prices and disasters. I appreciate the Corn Growers and all of our agriculture associations in helping to advance these shared priorities, and I look forward to continuing to work with them and my colleagues in Congress to do just that. ”

Through his role on the Agriculture Committee, Hoeven worked to ensure the Senate’s version of the farm bill, which passed last month, provides agriculture producers with strong crop insurance, improved risk management tools, enhanced support for agriculture research and greater access to capital. Hoeven continues his efforts to move the legislation through conference committee with the House of Representatives and pass a strong farm into law as soon as possible.

Further, Senator Hoeven is working to ensure Congress’ annual funding legislation provides farmers and ranchers with the resources they need to maintain them operations during difficult times. As chairman, Hoeven secured the following priorities in the Senate’s Fiscal Year 2019 Agriculture Appropriations bill:

  • Continues funding Hoeven’s Agriculture Risk Coverage (ARC) pilot program to allow for an alternate calculation method for crop payments when National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) data is insufficient.
  • Maintains funding for the Hoeven Water Bank initiative, which provides compensation for farmers and landowners for flooded land through 10-year, voluntary conservation agreements.
  • Fully funds the expected demand for farm direct and guaranteed and emergency loans.
  • Prohibits the closure of Farm Service Agency (FSA) county offices and provides funding to hire additional FSA loan officers. 
  • Increases funding for agriculture research conducted under the Agricultural Research Service (ARS) and the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA).
  • Maintains formula funding for land-grant universities.