Hoeven, Heitkamp Introduce Senate Resolution to Honor NDSU Bison Football Team Winning Sixth FCS Championship

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven along with Senator Heidi Heitkamp, today introduced a resolution celebrating the North Dakota State University (NDSU) Bison football team winning its sixth NCAA Division I FCS National Championship. The Bison defeated the James Madison University (JMU) Dukes on January 6 in Frisco, Texas for the title.

“What NDSU has accomplished over the last seven seasons is truly extraordinary,” Hoeven said. “With their victory on Saturday, the Bison have now won six FCS national titles in seven years, tying them for the most FCS titles all time, and in each of the past seven years, the Bison have won or shared the top spot in the Missouri Valley Football Conference. This success, reflected on and off the field, is earned through hard work and dedication. We recognize and congratulate the players, coaches and staff who have put in countless hours of practice and preparation. They have made Bison Nation and all North Dakota proud. Go Bison!” 

“Congratulations to North Dakota State University on its sixth FCS national championship in seven years,” Heitkamp said. “Bison football’s unprecedented success continues to make North Dakotans proud, and the work ethic, commitment, and tradition of its players and coaches both on and off the gridiron truly represent the best of North Dakota. I also want to thank the fans of Bison Nation for their unwavering dedication to one of North Dakota’s finest athletic programs and for serving as wonderful ambassadors of our state, whether at home or traveling across the country to places like Frisco, Texas.”