Hoeven, Heitkamp, Cramer Press for Approval of Presidential Disaster Declaration for North Dakota

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senators John Hoeven and Heidi Heitkamp and Congressman Kevin Cramer today pressed the administration to approve North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum’s request for a presidential major disaster declaration due to the severe drought. In a letter to the president, the delegation cited the extreme drought conditions in requesting additional federal support for the state. 

“We are grateful for the actions already undertaken by your administration to bring relief to North Dakotans struggling due to this severe drought.  For example, U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Perdue has designated 15 counties and 11 contiguous counties as primary natural disaster areas and has released Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) land for emergency haying and grazing.  Additionally, the U.S. Small Business Administration is providing low-interest economic injury loans to offset small nonfarm businesses’ economic losses.  Unfortunately, our producers are not currently eligible for these loans.  While the steps taken by the federal government are appreciated, more must be done to respond to this disaster and a major disaster declaration would allow the state and its residents the necessary resources from the federal government in order to weather this devastating drought,” wrote the delegation.

“The impact of this drought has grown beyond the capability of the state and local authorities to provide relief.  We urge you to agree to this request and approve a major disaster declaration as soon as possible so that the necessary federal resources are available to help our producers and assist our state and its residents during this time of crisis.”

The full text of the letter is available here.