Hoeven Announces Shari Buck as New Regional Director for Western North Dakota

WATFORD CITY, N.D. – Senator John Hoeven today announced that Shari Buck will serve as the new Regional Director for western North Dakota. In this role, she will cover 13 counties in the western portion of the state, helping the senator assist constituents, businesses and community leaders in the region. 

Buck comes to Hoeven’s office with extensive experience in public service, most recently as Planner and Director of Public Relations for McKenzie County. Her work has included a wide range of issues relevant to the region, such as western water issues, energy production, economic development and transportation infrastructure. She has also served as councilwoman and mayor of North Las Vegas, Nev., and in leadership positions both in public agencies and private enterprises. Her move to North Dakota was brought about by opportunities in the oil field. Buck will be based out of Watford City and can be reached by phone at (701) 580-4535 or by e-mail at shari_buck@hoeven.senate.gov.

“Shari has been an engaged citizen and a devoted public servant throughout her career, a trend she has continued since making North Dakota her home, and we are excited to bring her knowledge, experience and skills to our team,” Hoeven said. “She will be an important asset as we continue working to ensure a high quality of life for our citizens and help our businesses throughout the region succeed, including our core industries of agriculture and energy. I want to thank Jon for his good work over these past five years. His efforts across western North Dakota have helped us respond to the needs of the region and craft solutions for local residents. Mikey and I wish him the best in his retirement and all of his future endeavors.”

Jon Cameron, who served in this position since it was established in 2012, retired after 42 years of public service at the local, county, state and federal levels. Hoeven created the Western North Dakota Regional Director position, the first permanent presence from a member of the North Dakota congressional delegation west of Bismarck and Minot, in response to the rapid development of the region and in recognition of its contributions to the state’s overall economy.