Hoeven Announces More Than $6.5 Million in Funds for Replacing Bridges Across Rural North Dakota

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Transportation, Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Committee, today announced that the U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Competitive Highway Bridge Program (CHBP) on behalf of its Bridge Rural Repair (BRR) Program has awarded the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) $6,511,000. Hoeven has been working to secure the funding including a letter to DOT in support of the NDDOT’s application for the funding, which will be used to efficiently replace 18 aging bridges across the state found in the following counties: 

  • Burleigh County 
  • Grand Forks County
  • LaMoure County 
  • McKenzie County 
  • Stark County 
  • Traill County 
  • Walsh County 
  • Ward County
  • Williams County

“I outlined to Secretary Chao the importance of these funds in replacing aging bridges across our state,” said Hoeven. “Detours around closed bridges can add a significant amount of time to travels. Ensuring the roadways are connected with reliable bridges will help North Dakotans to safely and efficiently get where they’re headed.”