JOHN HOEVEN
NORTH DAKOTA

338 RUSSELL SENATE OFFICE BUILDING
TELEPHONE: (202) 224–2551
FAX: (202) 224–7999

hoeven.senate.gov



COMMITTEES:

AGRICULTURE

APPROPRIATIONS

ENERGY AND NATURAL RESOURCES

INDIAN AFFAIRS

January 9, 2024

Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan Director, National Science Foundation 2415 Eisenhower Ave. Alexandria, VA 22314

Dear Director Panchanathan:

I write to you today in support of the Northern Plains AgTech Engine for Food systems Adapted for Resiliency and Maximized Security (FARMS), a National Science Foundation (NSF) Type-2 Regional Innovation Engine finalist. North Dakota State University (NDSU) is leading on several fronts to ensure that North Dakota is at the forefront of innovation initiatives, including advanced agriculture, and I appreciate your full consideration of the NDSU FARMS application.

As you know, the National Science Foundation (NSF) is extensively involved across the state of North Dakota and at NDSU. Supporting U.S. competitiveness also means ensuring that there is special attention paid to the geography of innovation and that investments are made in all regions of the country to meet our full potential. For example, the NSF-funded Great Plains Innovation Corps (I-Corps) Hub, led by NDSU, is the only Hub that is solely comprised of partner universities in EPSCoR states. Regions in need of federal innovation investment, like North Dakota, will need to stay a top priority as the NSF's new Directorate for Technology, Innovation and Partnerships (TIP) grows.

Building on this model of success, the proposed NDSU FARMS Type-2 Regional Innovation Engine would help continue to transform the future of agriculture research for the nation while catalyzing economic development in North Dakota. Each of these investments, among many others at NDSU are sure to advance innovation, talent, and regional growth.

I look forward to seeing NSF's continued partnership with NDSU and across the state and thank you for your consideration of this important application.

Sincerely,

John Hoeven

United States Senator